Introduction to The Chakra's
Indigo Yoga and Therapies - Yoga Classes - Private Yoga Tuition - Corporate Yoga
RSS Follow Become a Fan

Recent Posts

Introduction to The Chakra's
Aqua Yoga
Happy New Year
Merry Christmas Athelstan School
Yoga Nidra


Interesting Facts/Articles
Pose of the month
powered by

My Blog

Introduction to The Chakra's

Whether you are new to yoga, or even if you've been practising for some time, you may or may not have come across the Chakras, I was years into my practice before I took an interest in Chakras, but as soon as I did I was hooked, so much made sense and I still strive to find balance, it was only when I began my Kundalini training that I found it necessary to develop even more understanding around the Chakras, what they are, what they do and how we can use them to gain deeper insight into ourselves and make sense of life.

Very simply the chakras are energy centres which relate to certain parts of the physical body, our emotions, our internal and external awareness and how we represent ourselves in the world.
We generally talk about the seven major energy centres in which energy flows through, they are positioned along focal points of the spine and we'll look at these in more detail.
There are actually 114 Chakras in the body, in addition to the 114 Chakras it also has 72,000 nadis (energy channels) along which vital energy, or 'prana' moves.
When the nadis meet at different point in the body they form a triangle, we call this triangle a Chakra, which means 'Wheel' it is believed to be called a wheel because it symbolises growth and movement, so even thought it's a triangle we call it a Chakra.
These Chakras each have their own vibrational frequency (represented through a specific Chakra colour) which influences our basic behaviour and attitudes.
Some of the energy centres are very powerful, while others are not so much.
Most of us have a particular Chakra where the majority of our Kundalini energy is focused, leading the behaviour or attitude associated with this Chakra to be our dominant force.
Chakras can become blocked, the free flow of energy in and out, and the flow of energy to other Chakras can have a significant impact on your entire energy system.
Through different yoga poses and exercises, we can stimulate or direct Kundalini energy to rise, balancing the Chakras and empowering us as individuals to enjoy a more whole and meaningful life.

The first three Chakras deal with the physical needs of the body and the basic needs of life.
They focus on elimination and reduction.

First Chakra (Muladhara) The Root Chakra : Security and Survival
Qualities: survival, security, habit, self acceptance.
Challenges: Feelings of fear, insecurity or not really belonging on earth.
Location: End of the spine between the anus and reproductive organs
Organ/Gland: Organs of elimination (e.g. Colon)
Colour: Red
Element: Earth
Yoga Exercises: Crow pose, Chair pose, front stretches, lying on stomach, root lock

Second Chakra (Svadisthana) The Sacral Chakra : Creativity
Qualities : Stimulate the ability to feel, desire or create
Challenges: Guilt, no boundaries, and irresponsible relationships
Location: Reproductive organs
Organ/Gland : Reproductive organs, reproductive glands, kidneys, bladder
Colour : Orange
Element: Water
Yoga Exercises: Frog pose, Cobra pose, Butterfly, Sat Kriya, Cat/Cow, Pelvic tilts

Third Chakra (Manipura) The Solar Plexus Chakra : Action and Balance
Qualities : Willpower, personal power and commitment
Challenges: Anger, greed, shame and despair
Location: Area of the navel point, solar plexus
Organ/Gland: Solar plexus, liver, gallbladder, spleen, digestive organs, pancreas, adrenals.
Colour: Yellow
Element: Fire
Yoga Exercises: Stretch pose, Sat Kriya, Bow pose, Diaphragm lock, Breath of fire

Balance point
The fourth Chakra is the point of balance in the body between the upper and lower triangles, between the flow of the upper energies of the heavens and the lower energies of the earth.
This is where the experience shifts from 'me to we'

Fourth Chakra (Anahata) The Hearth Chakra : Love and Compassion
Qualities: Awakening to spiritual awareness, forgiveness and services
Challenges: Grief, attachment, easily hurt and co-dependancy.
Location: middle of the chest on the breastbone at the level of the nipples.
Organ/Gland: Heart lungs, thymus gland
Colour: Green
Element: Air
Yoga Exercises: Ego Eradicator, Baby pose, Yoga Mudra, all pranayama, all arm exercises

Upper triangle
The Chakras in the upper triangle and the aura (which combines the effects of the seven chakras) accumulate, create, and refine the energy. The sixth, seventh and eighth Chakras correspond to the more subtle realms.

Fifth Chakra (Vishuddha) The Throat Chakra: Projective Power of the Word
Qualities: Hearing and speaking the truth, The Teachers.
Challenges: Lethargy, weakness in expressing oneself effectively, shyness, voice problems and insecurity.
Location: The throat
Organ/Gland: Trachea, throat, cervical vertebrae, thyroid
Colour: light blue
Element: Ether
Yoga Exercises: All chanting, Cobra pose, Plow pose, Shoulder stand, Cat/Cow, Neck lock.

Sixth Chakra (Ajna) The Third Eye Chakra : Intuition, Wisdom and Identity
Qualities: The union of opposites, understanding one's purpose
Challenges: Felling of confusion, depression, rejection to spirituality
Location: Between the eyebrows (The third eye)
Organ/Gland: Brain pituitary gland
Colour: Indigo
Yoga Exercises: Focus on the third eye, Archer pose, Whistle breathes, all exercises with forehead resting on the floor.

Seventh Chakra (Sahasrara) The Crown Chakra: Humility and Vastness
Qualities: Transcendence, the tenth gate, the seat of the soul
Challenges: Feelings of being separate from existence and abundance, along with the fear or death
Location: Crown of the head
Organ/Gland: Brain, Pineal gland
Colour: Violet
Yoga Exercises: Sat Kriya, concentrating on the tip of the nose, all meditation.

Eighth Chakra “The Aura” Electromagnetic field
Qualities: Radiance
Challenges: Susceptibility to illness, feeling shy, withdrawn, and vulnerable to environmental influences
Location: Electromagnetic field surrounding the physical body.
Colour: White
Yoga Exercises: Triangle pose, Ego Eradicator, Archer pose, all arm exercises and all mediation.

0 Comments to Introduction to The Chakra's:

Comments RSS

Add a Comment

Your Name:
Email Address: (Required)
Make your text bigger, bold, italic and more with HTML tags. We'll show you how.
Post Comment
Website Builder provided by  Vistaprint